Phishing scam targets Facebook.
In a developement that comes as little surprise to the anti-fraud community, popular social-networking site Phishbook Facebook has been targeted by phishing scammers. MatrixWatch users quickly reported the phishing site to the Watchlist, and it eventually became the top voted scam of the day.
The story appears to have first appeard on January 2nd on Scott Fish's blog (irony?). It was soon picked up by TechCrunch that same day, and then Wired News ran a story about it on January 3rd.
The scam appears as an enticing message in a user's comments:
lol i cant believe these pics got posted….its going to be BADDDD when her boyfriend sees these- h--p://www.facebook.com.profile.php.id.371233.cn
The linked site brings up a faux Facebook login page (the URL makes "371233.cn" the rogue domain name). The seeminly legitimiate login screen is used to hijack a user's account data. As always if you see one of these phishing sites, report it to our Watchlist so that other users can stay safe online.
UPDATE: One of our user's reported that the site no longer appears as of 6.12am on January 6th, 2008.
BROWSE the internet for suspicious websites or eBay auctions.
REPORT the link to our Watchlist. FLAG it if it has already been submitted.
SEE what others thought of your flag. Check back often to see if the site you are buying from is safe!

Comments
There are no comments for this entry yet.
Leave a Comment
Please login or register to be able to place comments.