View Full Version : freedesktoppc & freeflatscreen
jokach
September 5th, 2004, 10:53 AM
In addition to the free ipod program, there is also freedesktoppc.com and freeflatscreen.com. Both of these sites are being run by the same folks running the free ipod program.
Does anybody know how many friend referrals are needed to make these programs work? I see from the auction listings that I have found that they found ways to get around the free offers (by canceling or the such), but then they always say 'refer your friends' to get your ipod/pc/flatscreen.
I attempted to go through the sign-up to get an idea of how many referrals you need, but it doesn't tell you up front (which is wrong), and you don't find out until after you choose your offer (which is where I aborted).
Anyone have an idea? I can imagine its alot since they don't tell you up-front (which to me is deceptive)
jokach
mercinary
September 5th, 2004, 10:59 AM
I've heard the number 5 tossed around....
Nothing concrete mind you.
-Merc
stars926
March 26th, 2005, 06:30 PM
these are both legit sites, as they are owned by gratis internet. Also, the ones with ___4free are legit, and they are owned by offercentric.
Try it out for yourself, I've recieved my gifts before:
Referrals edited out by moderator
or
Referrals edited out by moderator
Read the forum rules, don't be a spammer!
jokach
March 26th, 2005, 07:21 PM
I think we see the problems with the ___4free sites.
Doesn't everyone get tired of seeing people begging for referrals just to get something for free? Everywhere on the internet you see these annoying links .......
Nobody is saying that they are not potentially legit, good luck getting your 'free gift' though, there are more horror stories out there then I've seen success stories. Gratis makes the rules, and is the judge and jury ...
jokach
avago181
March 26th, 2005, 08:12 PM
The UK is rife with these type of sites at the moment. I wouldn't trust them, how do you know that referrers have/ haven't completed there offers. The owners must be raking the cash in. They just send out the occasional gift to keep people happy.
CelticBhoy
March 27th, 2005, 08:25 AM
I agree they will be making money, however I am waiting to get a 1gb Ipodshuffle and will keep you posted when I recieve it.
On a plus note, this cost me nothing, granted a bit of a workaround was done, deposited £5 as required withdrew it immediately played the bonus £5 and made around £10.
I only need one more referred member to complete 5 have so far, I could have had a 512mb for 4 but waited for 1gb.
I am a member of many forum's and have a link in my signature, so on my part there has been no effort at all to gain referrals.
I would err caution on who you sign up to as already I have seen pretty poor imitation/copycat/con websites out there.
concerned
March 28th, 2005, 12:59 PM
On a plus note, this cost me nothing, granted a bit of a workaround was done, deposited £5 as required withdrew it immediately played the bonus £5 and made around £10.
Just because it didn't cost you any money, doesn't mean it didn't cost you anything. You have to be careful with these things. Most of the time these schemes cost you your dignity, your reputation, or even your personal information. There are a lot of people out there that would be happy to send you an IPOD in exchange for your social security number, credit card numbers, etc. In fact, on some of these systems that are scams, I wouldn't be supprised if someone hands over their credit card info or their ssn number to one of these people, and the IPOD was purchased on your own card or from a loan on your credit.
tcb1969a
April 10th, 2005, 11:18 AM
Does anybody know how many friend referrals are needed to make these programs work? I see from the auction listings that I have found that they found ways to get around the free offers (by canceling or the such), but then they always say 'refer your friends' to get your ipod/pc/flatscreen.
I attempted to go through the sign-up to get an idea of how many referrals you need, but it doesn't tell you up front (which is wrong), and you don't find out until after you choose your offer (which is where I aborted).
Anyone have an idea? I can imagine its alot since they don't tell you up-front (which to me is deceptive)
jokach
It is 10 referrals for freedesktoppc......
MatrixWatch
April 10th, 2005, 11:21 PM
According to the research I've done, these schemes aren't exactly breaking any laws, but that doesn't mean that they are a good thing to get involved with.
You basically have to get your friends and family to go in with you, and then you'd better be sure that it is legit because if it turns out to be an identity-theft scam, or something worse, then you will never hear the end of it. Plus, if you never get your prize, then you'll always be ashamed when those close to you ask if you've received it or not.
I had a good friend who got involved with the free iPods site, told everyone at school about it, and then never got his iPod. He went from being a somewhat respected figure on campus, to being laughed at for getting into a pyramid scam (and trying to get us to go with him). Of course, anecdotes like these don't prove whether or not these sites are legitimate, but it is sufficient reason for me to avoid these ridiculous programs and buy my own iPod.
tcb1969a
April 11th, 2005, 04:09 AM
The thing about these free ipod and such sites, especially from Gratis Network, is that you have to sign up with one of their sponsors as part of the requirements to getting a free ipod or what have you. So not only do you have to have a certain amount of referrals, but also you have to sign up with a sponsor. Now of course, you can cancel with one of the sponsors once you have earned credit on the free ipod site, which is around 7-14 days. And therefore you won't have to continue a membership with a sponsor that might cost you more than the ipod itself.
Also, when anything is advertised as you could get it for free, there is always a catch. Nothing is for free. Heck even the air isn't for free anymore..... lol
CelticBhoy
April 29th, 2005, 08:43 AM
Well I recieved a 1GB Ipodshuffle this morning - Completed Offer - Cost Nothing - Put Referral in a Forum Signature - Cost Nothing ..
I know of a dozen others that have received their IpodShuffles as well ...
Granted I know that the usual people will knock it ....
But I received a $200 (£100) piece of equipment for zip .....
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.