PDA

View Full Version : Goraks.com Scam, Can anyone help?


Alex
October 26th, 2004, 10:23 AM
Can anyone give me any advice with this website. I posted a response to a thread a while back concerning this site. I am currently listed in the #1 spot for a pioneer djm-600 mixer on thier DJ site, which is currenlty down and has been for about 1 month now. I have been in this spot for a year now and have had little help from the owner of this site. He tells me on occasion that he can't help me because paypal froze his account a year ago. Seems kind of funny how he continues to accept new orders without letting any product go. I aksed him about this several times but he doesn't give me a response. If he was a true business owner, he would pay for my mixer out of pocket since he has these funds in reserve, since his website states that once you cycle you will get an email to confirm shipping, then get your item within a few weeks. I don't think I have to tell you that I never got this email. I email this guy about everymonth and it takes me about 5-10 emails until I get one repsonse from him. I know, he seems like a great business owner, talk about great customer service. I have reported this to the FBI, FTC and the Attornery General for the state of Washington but have not heard anything back from this.

Can any offer me any advice for this?

Thanks,
Alex

mercinary
October 26th, 2004, 10:39 AM
Contacting your local law enforcement might be a good plan of action. You should also contact Paypal.

Do you have any information on the owner of the site? Calling the local law enforcement from his home-town might work too.

-Merc

ycchen
October 26th, 2004, 11:19 AM
There is some discussion of this site on MW last year.

Your pioneer djm-600 mixer list does not seems to exist any more. I think if the list doesn't even exist, you should be eligible to get a refund of US$85! Do you know the owner's real identity, address and phone number? If so, call him and talk to him/her or his/her mother directly. It might help a bit.

Don't forget to try the suggestion by Merc, i.e. report the scam to the local police department (fraud division) where the scammer live. I think the scammer live in Seatle, right?

Remember, 'threat' is sometimes a good way to get refund :) If reporting the the Seatle police fraud department is not enough, try to ask your lawyer friend to write an formal warning letter to him might do the trick.

The third thing you might like to do is to write a report to http://www.ripoffreport.com/ . You can warn him in advance before you write the report, see if s/he cares. I don't he will. But, hey do the right thing by explosing the scam online might just save a few newbies from donating to the site.

Alex
October 26th, 2004, 12:36 PM
Thanks for the info. I have actually been emailing this guy for over a year now trying to get my mixer or money back. I have a phone number but it doesn't work. I have all his info thanks to the help of another guy that runs alienminds website, if I rember correctly. He gave me his web provider, which I contacted and they were no help along with all the other info he was able to pull.

This guy is very bad at responding to emails or customer service for that matter. I told him I was getting a lawyer and he said fine that he would file a countersuit against me, which I laughed at and thought was pretty funny. That was only after I emailed him about 5-10 times that he got back to me.

Any other info?

Thanks again,
Alex

concerned
October 26th, 2004, 01:48 PM
Alex

Welcome to the matrix scam. The way that site was intended to run, it seems to have worked as it was designed to do. That is why it is a pyramid scheme in reality. Good luck with contacting that guy. My advice is that he will never respond. The problem I see with a lot of these sites, such as Gotmatrix (in particular) is when they get to this stage, and the owner does not respond, they never will. It is insane to keep emailing the owner, because it won't work, but lots of people claim to send emails 3 times a day for months. It should be obvious that they won't respond, but people still have faith in the owners. That is because of the greed in trying to get something for nothing. My advice is to stop trying to contact the owner after about a week. Move on to the next step, which is contacting authorities and filing lawsuits. You will be helping not only yourself, but also every other customer that got scammed.

MatrixWatch
October 26th, 2004, 03:49 PM
This guy will never countersue you. We've heard this threat so many times that it is just ridiculous.

What will he countersue you for, pestering him about a refund?

At least you see the humor in his threat. :)

ycchen
October 26th, 2004, 11:11 PM
I would consider this type of matrix-site -- half dead, including gotmatrix. They don't even bother to close it down because they are not afraid of getting suit, at least not yet. A few things you might consider.

1) Please, download the whole website into your computer before it dissappear. Keep all the email and transaction records. You might need all this information when a) you decide to take him to small claim court, or file class lawsuit against him ; b) you report to seatle police station (fraud division), you need to send them evidences of the scam.

2. Contact other victims of the goraks.com and brainstorm a collective strategy to get your money back. The scam owner will be more scare if you are working as a group, then individual. It would be to your advantage if you file class lawsuit, or police report collectively. In the meantime, matrixwatch welcome all victims of goraks.com to come forward with your story and brainstorm an effective strategy to fight back!

3. Check this website: http://www.mlmwatch.org/11Legal/suits.html ! You might like to contact them to see if you have a "class lawsuit" case against the goraks.com pryamid scam.

4. There are more avenues to file complaint here http://www.mlmwatchdog.com/Complaints.html

lukc22
December 10th, 2004, 09:06 PM
I believe that I have been scammed as well ... I have paid for a sony vaio laptop but the list has not been updated since sept 29th .... I have sent several emails but with no response ... I wonder what legal recourse I have and how can I contact this person... can anyone give me as much information as possible about this goraks site??? name number anything??? Thank you

mercinary
December 10th, 2004, 10:26 PM
Goraks is another site that will likely topple shortly. You can be proactive, and start filing complaints before it goes down. You can file the same reports that the victims of Gotmatrix are filing. For a list of those reports go here:

http://www.matrixwatch.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1775

We provide a form letter, so contacting those organizations is made pretty easy. It will greatly benefit you to write them now, rather than waiting for Goraks to collapse.

-Merc

redmist
December 11th, 2004, 08:04 PM
the testimonials are hilarious!!! (sorry - testimonial)

Alex
December 13th, 2004, 02:08 PM
Here is some info I found with some help from a friend. If I am not supposed to post this info please delete and let me know.

Alex:
>
> As promised, here is all of the information I could find about
> goraks.com:
>
> Goraks.com lists their contact address as:
>
personal information saved away to private location. - Merc
>
> Their Internic host record (where they registered their domain) has
> this info:
>
personal information saved away to private location. - Merc
>
> So... it appears that they are somewhere in the Seattle, WA area.
> However, when I do a check on their web server netblock (the IP address
> block their webserver resides on) I get this result:
>
> ----------
personal information saved away to private location. - Merc
> -----------
>
> So, while they (goraks.com) are in Seattle, WA, their actual server is
> served by a company in Houston, TX called "Everyone's Internet". Of
> course, the server itself may actually *be* in WA state, and Everyone's
> Internet is just based out of Houston. No way to tell easily.

mercinary
December 13th, 2004, 02:17 PM
Alex,

You sort of guessed it yourself. We can't allow personal information on the forums for legal reasons.

This information has been saved away someone safe. Anyone who wants the information just needs to contact an administrator or moderator here (or Alex!).

:)

-Merc

Alex
December 13th, 2004, 02:40 PM
Sorry about that. Anyone wants personal info on this guy just email me or post your email and I will send it to you. We need to get together and shut this guy down, he is still taking orders and posting new items on his site.

edison2001
January 17th, 2005, 01:25 PM
I have a somewhat good story from goraks. I bought one of those e-books with the intent to get the incentive plasma tv. But when I saw that the list was not moving as expected I asked for my refund (within 30 days). A complete refund was given to me, however my name still remains on that list. If the list is updated periodically why is it that my name still appears on it? The list only adds names. I wonder how many people have been refunded like myself and still remain on the list. The list is probably 3 people deep.

Alex
January 20th, 2005, 09:34 AM
I am shocked you got a refund. I am still waiting for mine for over a year now. Congrats on getting your money back, I am sure you are one of the few.

ycchen
January 21st, 2005, 12:35 AM
Alex, may be you could ask edison2001 to PM you about the "secret" of getting a refund. :)