PDA

View Full Version : A matrix site?


millie
October 29th, 2004, 08:55 AM
Have you seen this one? Doesn't look strictly like a matrix site but I was suspicious of it and told people I'd emailed not to waste their time. this is the link you get:

[I]Hey,

[I]This web site is giving away iPods:

http://fsipod.com/app/invite/r/252781/i/b11

Click and get yours.

So someone ignored my message and foolishly did go through the process and this is what happened:

Did this with all the email addresses of people in the office. Got all of pals enrolled but 'an unknown email address/friend' appeared on the list. To get my ipod, all of them had to register. My friends emails got registered because I was using their email address but I couldn't register this unknown address. BASTARDS!

You might like to take a look....

jokach
October 29th, 2004, 09:03 AM
I'm not sure the website you have posted is a matrix by the definition, but it is based on a pyramid like scheme. Check out the forum we have dedicated to the free ipod craze:

http://www.matrixwatch.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=64

Seems the biggest problem with these types of 'programs' is getting other people to actually register for the promotions. I have seen forum after forum that talk about what it truly takes to get the ipod because its not as cut and dry as it appears. Alot of people think they can fill out an offer, then cancel a day after and still get the credit, but alot of the newer 'ipod' schemes are forbidding that now, but not advising members.

Obvioulsy from what your second quote above states, its defintiely not cut and dry ...

jokach

millie
November 2nd, 2004, 05:49 AM
Thing is, you're asked to sign up for a choice of all kinds of offers (I didn't get so far as to see if you need to part with hard cash!).

All your friends who have registered also have to sign up for an offer for you to receive your iPod; clearly if a rogue email address appears (as happened to my friend) you'll never get your iPod no matter how many of your friends sign up!

The site also claims to be affiliated to amazon.com which I find hard to believe. I wonder if they know about it? :confused:

pillsbury09
January 5th, 2005, 12:33 AM
Amazon is probably being used as a Dropshipper for this company which is just like Freeipods.com, but seems to have less traffic