PDA

View Full Version : thetopmobile.com


Wildstar
January 30th, 2005, 02:29 AM
Ok, I once bidded on Ebay for a Palm Tungsten C through them. What they gave me was part of the FREAKIN' deal. They gave me the phone antennae.

This deal was, I pay $33 and I get the phone antennae and be on the waiting list for the Palm Tungsten C. After a LONG wait and me bugging them enough - they finally sent the antennae but NO Palm Tungsten C. Now that they been closed down, I won't be getting the Palm Tungsten C. At least I got the cheap - PIECE of SH*T cell phone antennae. This SUX.

DON'T BUY ANYTHING that requires you to be on a WAITING list unless it is from a LONG-TIME business and that you have contacted them. Personally, DON'T. Just DON'T. If it isn't advertised on TV during 6am-10pm on national TV networks, JUST don't BUY the BS. IT is JUST BS. NEVER believe the email. Don't EVEN click on the link. Just like many other EBAY/PAYPAL bullsh*t on email. For example with Outlook Express, place the pointer over the link (DO NOT CLICK ANY BUTTON.) Just look at the button of the Outlook Express window. Like Internet Explorer - it is a LINK status bar that shows the REAL link. Often if it doesn't match - it is BS. On IE, on the bottom of the IE window - you see a little e over what looks like a sheet of paper. When you have your pointer over the link - it shows the actual address of the link. Don't believe the text within the message. In Outlook Express- it will be in the same aproximate area. On the bottom - towards the bottom-left corner of the Outlook Express window.

Anyway, they are usually just SCAMs. For the $30, I sent - it is more costly to sue the jerks at www.thetopmobile.com since they at LEAST sent the stupid antennae thinggy. After a little bit of forcing them. I simply suggest - DON'T EVER believe in it.

To the people at www.thetopmobile.com. :nono:
BAD!!!!! BAD!!!!! BAD !!!!!

If I EVER see you guys again - this would be what I would
do to your heads: :head:

See, your HEADS. Remember that image. It can be worse, like being hung by your underwear from the top of the Astoria Column after being kicked off the top. This is epitomy of the word ATOMIC WEDGY.

PS: WHERE IS MY F***ING Palm Tungsten C !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

[/end of message to the guys from www.thetopmobile.com]

ycchen
January 30th, 2005, 02:45 AM
Wildstar, welcome to matrixwatch! Thanks for sharing your horrible experience, and your advice is well taken.

If it is not too late, your might like to try you luck with your credit card company. Of course, you know about the "standard procedure" of filing complaints to various authority, hopefully some of them will take action. You never know.

In the meantime, just keep bugging the scammer, and may be s/he will refund you just to "get rid" of you :) Or if you manage to locate where this scammer works, then, a friendly telephone/fax to his/her boss might works. :)

If you have free time, you can help us with reporting the matrix auctions on eBay. :)

Wildstar
February 3rd, 2005, 04:29 AM
Wildstar, welcome to matrixwatch! Thanks for sharing your horrible experience, and your advice is well taken.

If it is not too late, your might like to try you luck with your credit card company. Of course, you know about the "standard procedure" of filing complaints to various authority, hopefully some of them will take action. You never know.

In the meantime, just keep bugging the scammer, and may be s/he will refund you just to "get rid" of you :) Or if you manage to locate where this scammer works, then, a friendly telephone/fax to his/her boss might works. :)

If you have free time, you can help us with reporting the matrix auctions on eBay. :)

Well, I ran a tracker on the IP received address on the email. It traces back to University of Colorado at Boulder,Colorado campus. The people running www.thetopmobile.com appears to be a student using the University's system to host/operate their matrix business/site from.

For those who have had problems with www.thetopmobile.com should contact the following.

University of Colorado - Boulder
abuse@colorado.edu
+1-303-735-4357
1-(303)-735-4357

mail:
University of Colorado-Boulder Information Technology Services
3645 Marine Street
Boulder, CO 80309-0455
United States

I suggest to view the email where you see the WHOLE header and copy/paste the WHOLE content - including header and send the info to their staff so they can track through their computer logs of students who have been on specific computers at a certain time-frame.

Typically, all computer access info / student account logins and the sort is recorded for evidence of any abuse. This is standard network monitoring protocols.

I tracked this via BOTH windows "TRACERT" and another IP tracker program.

For EXAMPLE: one of the people or the person involved in this "matrix scheme" was on a computer addressed as 'home-ppp4-221.colorado.edu' [191.11.22.221] on Wednesday, September 22, 2004 at 3:31 AM -400 (Eastern Date Time) which would be approximately 1:31AM in Boulder, Colorado.

With this information, they can do in investigation through computer services to find out what computer, where the computer was, and what student through the information recorded in logs.

Of course given the amount of time, it would be easier if they were contacted sooner to when the email was sent.

Sorry guys at www.thetopmobile.com - you guys really can't hide. Your nice network which you connect to - gives a return IP. The given info can implicate you and given the info and the university's computer data log which is to be kept for at least 1 WHOLE academic year. They can track through there logs for who has been assigned the specific address AT the specific time and date. This is done by finding out which computer was on at that time under that address. This is because a MAC address is logged into the server and they find out which source it is from. Then they can figure out where to look. Any of the university's computer's network card or onboard chip has a MAC address and that is recorded. When they know that info - they know which computer because the MAC address is tied to a computer serial number or university computer stamp number. Since some college have a little sticker with a number on it. That is databased. All info, such as where the computer is located, MAC address AND serial number and all is databased.

Welcome to the computer age. Now that you are publically exposed, anyone here can fill in the info to the university.

Here is the header: (for personal network security - ONLY certain parts of this header is censored.)

Received: from host33.host33-server.com ([66.49.169.132])
by mx.arishost.com (8.11.6/8.11.6) with ESMTP id i8M8fiT17970
for <rick*******@*domain-name censored*.com>; Wed, 22 Sep 2004 04:41:44 -0400 (EDT)
X-Mail-For: <rick*******@*domain-name censored*.com>
X-C-Loop-Control: 200409220841
X-ClientAddr: 127.0.0.1
Received: from www.thetopmobile.com (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by host33.host33-server.com (8.12.10/8.12.10) with SMTP id i8M7V47H017665
for <rick*******@*domain-name censored*.com>; Wed, 22 Sep 2004 03:31:04 -0400
Received: from 198.11.22.221
(SquirrelMail authenticated user support@thetopmobile.com)
by www.thetopmobile.com with HTTP;
Wed, 22 Sep 2004 03:31:04 -0400 (EDT)
Message-ID: <3334.198.11.22.221.1095838264.squirrel@www.thetopm obile.com>
In-Reply-To: <000401c49ee0$824b91b0$6401a8c0@*Rick's computer name*>
References: <200404160531.i3G5VKkv006445@host33.host33-server.com>
<3151.198.11.22.110.1082140467.squirrel@www.thetopm obile.com>
<000701c45506$8982ec40$6401a8c0@*Rick's computer name*>
<3190.198.11.22.162.1087590307.squirrel@www.thetopm obile.com>
<001401c49acb$d8d1e750$6401a8c0@*Rick's computer name*>
<4622.198.11.22.221.1095663918.squirrel@www.thetopm obile.com>
<000401c49ee0$824b91b0$6401a8c0@*Rick's computer name*>
Date: Wed, 22 Sep 2004 03:31:04 -0400 (EDT)
Subject: Re: My Palm Tungsten C order status
From: support@thetopmobile.com
To: "Rick Balkins" <rick*******@*domain-censored*.com>
User-Agent: SquirrelMail/1.4.2
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;charset=iso-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-Priority: 3
Importance: Normal
X-yoursite-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more information
X-yoursite-MailScanner: Found to be clean