PDA

View Full Version : Just about to murder some scammer...


drunkentyger
February 28th, 2005, 05:27 PM
Hi all. New to this forum. Well, I sort of have a general idea what these forums is about. Great site you guys have.

Anyways, to keep a long story short, I signed up for some "Free Gifts!" site. The site is www.offergift.com. I chose the "Ipod" option. I completed all the requirements for the offer and mailed all the neccesary materials.

It "generally takes 6-8 weeks" to process each order. It has been past that timeline now. I am starting to become extremely suspicious of the "company". I am now about ready to wait for some unlucky *#$&@ to pick up their mail from their P.O BOX... And strike with great vengence. (The address I mailed the completed "certificates" to is about an hour or so away from my home)

I have tried emailing them regarding my order but I have not recieved a reply. I know they do reply to emails because I sent them a question regarading their services before I completed all of their requirements. But ever since I completed their requirements, they have not replied to my emails.

Anyways, I did a little "investigating" on their address, and it led me here.

So my question is this: Is this whole thing a scam? Am I EVER going to get my Ipod?

Thanks guys...

redmist
February 28th, 2005, 05:29 PM
are you over 18? is all the information you gave to them correct?

if yes then pay a visit to them and ask them what they think they are playing at!

drunkentyger
February 28th, 2005, 05:31 PM
yes I am 18. The information was all correct. Unfortunetally I dont have their "company" address. I only have their PO BOX address. (Where they pick up their mail.)

redmist
February 28th, 2005, 05:32 PM
i dont know about the US, but in the UK you can phone up Royal Mail and they have to give you the address of the person that owns the PO Box. Maybe go to the PO Box address and ask them who owns it. Or just wait until you see the guy come and get his mail...lol

drunkentyger
February 28th, 2005, 05:35 PM
wow. the UK system is pretty awesome. Im quite sure thats not possible in the US though..

mercinary
February 28th, 2005, 05:56 PM
This is another one of those "complete an offer, get a prize" schemes. I've moved this thread to the "other scams" forum, as this doesn't fall under the matrix scheme (although that is arguable I suppose).

I'm leaving from work now, so when I get home I will take a closer look at the site and get back to you if I come up with anything you can do to help yourself.

-Merc

drunkentyger
February 28th, 2005, 05:58 PM
Thanks alot Merc. :applause: Looking forward to your reply. :bow:

mercinary
February 28th, 2005, 09:23 PM
Well, as a start I suggest going here:

http://whois.xreg.co.uk/

Enter the domain name and do a lookup. We cannot post whois lookup info on these forums, as it is a legal liability. There is an address listed for the domain registrant, and that will definitely lead you somewhere.

I would write to that company with your complaint and see if you get anything back. When you write the complaint, be sure to be professional and include specifics (join date, offer completion dates, etc). Make sure to include any evidence you have that the offers were completed (i.e. credit card bills showing the purchase/account activation of the free offer).

Most importantly, go back and read the terms of service word for word. Make sure you understand ever word, and only write a complaint letter when you are 100% convinced that the company is in breach of their T.O.S..

If you do write a complaint, make sure to keep a copy for yourself (and also send the letter with delivery confirmation). If the company does not respond in a timely manner (3-4 weeks), then begin writing complaint letters to the Attorney General of their state, Attorney General of your state, and the BBB of their City.

Good luck! I hope this helps some.

-Merc

drunkentyger
February 28th, 2005, 10:59 PM
thanks for the link Merc.... However... I have no idea what this "whois" site does... Is this the contact information for the companies domain?

Thanks.

Dreamer
February 28th, 2005, 11:01 PM
Check this out:

http://www.lordsgrace.org/job/03904.html
http://www.yfdirect.com/contact.html

Maybe that can get a lead there...