PDA

View Full Version : mp3downloading.com


letsprocras
April 5th, 2005, 11:31 AM
Having quickly looked through and searched, I found that this has not yet been discussed.
However, it is far from new.

It claims that it offers legal mp3 downloading - when this cannot possibly be true.
It charges membership fees for the access of links to software that is already free.
They do not respond to emails and I have read reviews about the telephone numbers being false?

I stupidly signed up for this membership before doing any researched about 3 months ago and have been trying to receive a refund ever since and it doesnt look like I was the only one.


Has anyone had or heard of people who've had a similar experience?


Also on my wanders seeking reviews I came across this - which looks a bit fishy:
http://www.mp3reviewsite.com/

sigx97
April 5th, 2005, 02:14 PM
sites like www.allofmp3.com are based in Russia and dont have the same laws we do in the USA, so I guess in a sense its legal.

Dreamer
April 5th, 2005, 06:13 PM
Its not that it's based in Rusia, or somewhere else that doesnt recognize copyright laws etc. If that was the case, than it would be more borderline in my opinion.

However, the site the person posted about is 100%. I'd say there are several 100 sites that is probably run by the same people. When I was downloading from suprnova.org, if you went to suprnova.com, supernova.org, supernova.com, etc, you were bought to sites prentending to be suprnova.org charging $49.95 or something like that for the service.

If you go to the site, It has links for searching, etc. Whenever you click on any of the links you go to the same sign up page.

So, what does this $49.95 yearly charge get you? A page of links so you can download kazaa, winmx, icq. Thats it.

I fell for the same thing. Since day 1 I emailed them frequently. I threatened to go to paypal and ask for my money back. I threated to tell all message boards about the site so nobody else will fall for it.

I eventually got refunded.

jokach
April 5th, 2005, 07:29 PM
I guess the question is, how did you pay them? (credit card? Paypal?) Depending on how long ago you purchased it, you might be able to get your money back. Worst case is to look up the IP information in WHOIS and see if you can contact the web host, who might be able to give you information on the site owner. Sometimes they work with you, and sometimes they don't.

I'd also be careful of any of the smaller MP3 sites, because their selections might be limited... also be skeptical of 'ranking' sites, because you don't know who is providing the rankings and if they are really a sampling from the public or falsified to drive traffic ........

I guess what i'm saying, you have to be careful out there in the internet world ......... :cool:

jokach