PDA

View Full Version : bww (Britt Worldwide)


kilorat
May 9th, 2005, 07:35 PM
Hi everybody, I like what you guys have going on here. I'd like to ask you cool people a question about BWW, and if they are really a scam or not.

I registered on linkedin.com because a friend is on it, and I wanted some more business contacts, and I got an out of the blue contact from someone who wanted to meet to talk about a business opportunity. Linkedin is one of those social network sites like friendster, orkut, etc, but its focus is on professional contacts, like finding a better job, making a business contact, etc. Not connecting them to scammers at all, I'm just illustrating how they found me.

So anyway, this guy that contacted me was with BWW, even though he never told me that, but he emailed me from bww.com. So that right there sets off my BS radar. He wanted me to attend a "briefing" to learn more about it. I read up online, and it seems like they were at least investigated, and the owner is the same person that owns Amway.

http://www.pyramidschemealert.org/PSAMain/action/bww.html

What is making me post this is, I did searches on mlmwatch.org and this site for "bww" and it came up blank! So now I'm wondering if this really a MLM, or was just investigated for maybe being one.

After reading the potential MLMness of the whole thing of course I told the guy I wasnt interested anymore, because even if it wasnt a scam I'm not interested in being a salesperson or recreuiter, legit or not. But now I'm wondering if it really was a pyramid scheme.

For entertainment, this was his initial pitch. I like how he makes it sound like its his own business.


Saw you profile and was interested in talking to you. I'm working on an exciting business project in my spare time and would like to know if you keep your options open. I'm qualifying folks who are interested in entrepreneurial opportunities and would like to work on something exciting on the side of their current job.


Their main website:

http://www.bww.com

Not very informative, I know.
But from what I can tell reading online, its just another incarnation of Amway. Hopefully someone who knows more can enlighten us?

MatrixWatch
May 9th, 2005, 07:38 PM
It could be something new, so thanks for bringing it to this site's attention. Feel free to post any other details on this program.

kilorat
May 9th, 2005, 07:42 PM
I think that each member gets their own domain and tries to make it look like they are their own company.

http://www.nubizworld.com

I think I'll stop there, I think the MLM market is very complex, and I'm just finding the tip of the iceberg, and someone could probably study it for a living and never learn all about it. Like a virus they mutate to avoid erradication, and will do whatever it can to survive and feed off the hopes and dreams of people. If everyone spreads the name Amway around, they just change the name. And when that doesnt work, make all their members come up with new names so that nobody can ever warn anyone about company name X because there's 1000 company names.

ycchen
May 11th, 2005, 09:01 PM
I don't like any "presumably MLM (who knows)" business website that is protected behind password, i.e. not transparent. In addtion, I hate words such as "empowering people", or "people helping people" ... it always means endless recruiting, which is the essense of almost all MLM business.

Kami-san
June 10th, 2005, 12:33 AM
I was just contacted by someone from BWW a few days ago... It seems to me that it is just a pyramid scam. So anyway i'm young and kind of naive so i was wondering if anyone had some advice for me. Thanks in advance.

concerned
June 10th, 2005, 12:02 PM
Whenever you see the words "Empowering people" you can almost guarantee that it is a pyramid scheme. For some reason that scheme keeps using the same name all over the place. I guess they can't come up with something original. I have to commend you Kami-san about your post. You were smart enough to realize that you were young and naive, and did the responsible thing in asking help from others. I wish more people were like you, maybe there would be a lot less people scammed otherwise.

kilorat
June 13th, 2005, 05:04 PM
Stay away!
Opportunity knocks once, it doesnt bang down your door. If its banging down your door its more like someone trying to use you.
The test is, when talking with them give wishy-washy answers like well i dont know if I'd be good at it, and if they say OH THATS OK! then you know its a scam. If you were trying to recruit only people you thought would do well, would you just not care what kind of bums you get? They just want to get whatever they can from you and anyone else who makes the mistake of trusting them.

And the other red flag is BWW is ran by the Amway guy, and that is a well known scam.