paulgb
September 19th, 2005, 06:28 PM
I hope this is the right forum for this.
Today I found a message on a fourm that I run, advertising an auction-like site. The difference with the site is that there is a price to bid, starting around $5. I had doubts about the legitimacy of the site from the beginning, and I had a little discussion with the spammer, who claimed to have nothing to do with the site. I checked the whois for the domain, and found that the owner was Eric from CO. I noticed that on the winners page, the only winner was also named Eric from CO. I pointed this out to the spammer, who still maintained that they had nothing to do with the auction site, and within 2 minutes the information on the winners page was changed to Thomas from CO. Soon later, it changed again to Thomas from AZ.
What it comes down to is that I am sure now the site is not legitamate, and I am wondering what to do next. Is there someone to report these things to?
The site is: http://www.outbid4less.com/ (copy and paste to prevent referer information)
The discussion is at: http://ride.ath.cx/ipod/forum/viewtopic.php?t=124
The whois that I used is here: http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/results.jhtml;jsessionid=LR4Z3YXEYSJKSCWKEAQSFEQ?w hoistoken=0&imageKeyPage=/whois/entry.jhtml&_requestid=119441
Today I found a message on a fourm that I run, advertising an auction-like site. The difference with the site is that there is a price to bid, starting around $5. I had doubts about the legitimacy of the site from the beginning, and I had a little discussion with the spammer, who claimed to have nothing to do with the site. I checked the whois for the domain, and found that the owner was Eric from CO. I noticed that on the winners page, the only winner was also named Eric from CO. I pointed this out to the spammer, who still maintained that they had nothing to do with the auction site, and within 2 minutes the information on the winners page was changed to Thomas from CO. Soon later, it changed again to Thomas from AZ.
What it comes down to is that I am sure now the site is not legitamate, and I am wondering what to do next. Is there someone to report these things to?
The site is: http://www.outbid4less.com/ (copy and paste to prevent referer information)
The discussion is at: http://ride.ath.cx/ipod/forum/viewtopic.php?t=124
The whois that I used is here: http://www.networksolutions.com/whois/results.jhtml;jsessionid=LR4Z3YXEYSJKSCWKEAQSFEQ?w hoistoken=0&imageKeyPage=/whois/entry.jhtml&_requestid=119441