PDA

View Full Version : psp-store.co.uk


jokach
November 17th, 2005, 07:50 PM
I'm curious if anybody has any experience with a new online company called http://www.psp-store.co.uk. We've had reports that once they take your order, you never hear back from them. Even their contact information is very lacking on their site and the registration date for the domain is on November 1, 2005 (they've been open only for a few weeks at this point).

I checked the whois information, and it appears they are working out of Baghdad, Iraq. I couldn't imagine there being a ton of PSP's in Iraq, but I might be wrong.

The contact information on the whois record is:


Domain Name:
psp-store.co.uk

Registrant:
Rafed Alqurayshi

Registrant's Address:
1 Alqurayshi Baghdad Al Jadeedah
Baghdad
Baghdad
33109
IQ


Has anybody come across this site, and does anybody have any information on it? The domain points to a UK domain, but its obviously not the case here.

jokach

MatrixWatch
November 17th, 2005, 07:52 PM
Perhaps the road to the post office is just as bad as that road to the airport?

DawnH
November 20th, 2005, 07:39 AM
We have ordered through this company as they state they have items in stock.. We have had one reply and have heard nothing since. They reckon they are busy due to the time of year. I am starting to get a bit concerned as the 10 days which they said they are taking has now elapsed. We have paid through credit card although it went through paypal. Don't comapnies have to be vetted before they can sell on-line?[/FONT]

I'm curious if anybody has any experience with a new online company called http://www.psp-store.co.uk. We've had reports that once they take your order, you never hear back from them. Even their contact information is very lacking on their site and the registration date for the domain is on November 1, 2005 (they've been open only for a few weeks at this point).

I checked the whois information, and it appears they are working out of Baghdad, Iraq. I couldn't imagine there being a ton of PSP's in Iraq, but I might be wrong.

The contact information on the whois record is:
[FONT=Arial]



Has anybody come across this site, and does anybody have any information on it? The domain points to a UK domain, but its obviously not the case here.

jokach

Webwatch
November 20th, 2005, 08:26 AM
I would reccomend staying well clear of this one.
Only 2 Products, Limited contact info, + using a simple to set up paypal link to collect payment.

Looks to me like they are using the popularity of the PSP to operate a quick scam.
It will take about 7 days to transfer the paypal funds to their bank and then they will withdraw it and dissapear before the chargebacks start flying in.

These are my initial impression's.

jokach
November 20th, 2005, 11:15 AM
Don't comapnies have to be vetted before they can sell on-line?


Anybody in this day and age, who has a computer, can sell on-line, due to the creation of the online payment processors (like Paypal). Back when you had to get a merchant credit card account to take credit cards, wait for checks, etc. in order to join in the ecommerce boom, it was easier to know who to buy from.

Were you able to find any contact information outside of the email address on the website?

jokach

reddevil
November 28th, 2005, 04:58 PM
This is definitely a scam web-site, a friend of mine ordered a PSP from this site almost 3 weeks ago and hasn't heard anything back - despite numerous e-mails containing threats etc. A co.uk domain registered with somebody in Baghdad ....mmm smells like Sadam is at it. In this situation what can somebody do legally?? I guess youre not exactly going to get much joy out of contacting trading standards.

Ferret
November 28th, 2005, 05:55 PM
You paid with PayPal, right?

Have you complained to PayPal yet?
www.psp-store.co.uk PayPal account is still working

You can call them in the US
I have the # somewhere
There is probably a UK #

reddevil
November 28th, 2005, 07:25 PM
Well yes and no......she paid with her Visa Card to the guys so called PayPal account -I say so called because I dont think its a legitimate paypal account - she contacted Paypal and they have no record of the transaction (she never received a confirmation e-mail from paypal either), it also appeared as Paypaltechno (or something like that) on her statement. I think this guy may have his own payment transfer system in place - which would make it a pretty untraceable operation.

reddevil
November 28th, 2005, 07:38 PM
Just tried the payment process on this guys web-site - and it does take you to what looks like a legitimate PayPal payment screen - so Im wondering why PayPal dont have record of the transaction and why my friend never received an e-mail from PayPal (Im assuming here that PayPal send out confirmation of payment e-mails - even if you dont have a PayPal account - so not sure) - Think I'll get her to contact PayPal again and force the issue.

Ferret
November 28th, 2005, 09:31 PM
You need to get a lot more aggressive with PayPal

Contact their Fraud dept. and report this guy
Send the link to his website and payment page, etc to spoof@paypal.com
with all your info about this case

I can call them in the US 888 221-1161
UK phone #?
There was a post on this site about phone #'s for PayPal

If she set up a PayPal account with a password she can log in and see all
transactions
You are identified by your email address

avago181
November 29th, 2005, 05:12 AM
UK phone number is 08707 307191.

DawnH
December 4th, 2005, 06:06 PM
All is not lost. We purchased via credit card which then went through Paypal. Paypal seem to "authorise" the transaction. To be fair our credit card company also checked if it was ok to go through. At that point we thought everything was going through. We had all the correct correspondence through paypal and then filed a complaint through them. They were very helpful and only gave the supplier 10 days to comply. Our Paypal account has since been credited. :applause:

luisa31
December 7th, 2005, 06:04 PM
RE: PSP-STORE.CO.UK

Has anyone purchased a PSP from this company and actually received it yet??

I purchased a psp on the 28th November thru paypal. The website states a 1-3 delivery time, and to date I have received no goods, no nothing, not even a response to my everso polite "where is my PSP console" emails. To say that I am gutted is an understatement.

I have looked into my PayPal account and the traders name is Ibraheem Hlaiyil.

I have filed a complaint with PayPal and they have stressed that unless this utter sh@t has money in his PayPal account I might aswell kiss my £185.94 away.

If you are thinking of buying anything from this company, THINK AGAIN and STAY
AWAY.