PDA

View Full Version : Hi All! (from a 'newbie') - Great site.


pnisbet
June 9th, 2006, 09:38 PM
Hi.

My name is Pete Nisbet and I am new to this site. I originally visited in response to a thread I saw (quite old really) about a scheme called affilliatecashmachine. Everybody seemed to be criticising it as a pyramid scheme when it was obviously not, so I had to join to put my views.

Affiliatecashmachine.com has a product (a so-called eBook) and is a straight affiliate sales system. There are no 'levels' and you earn only what you sell. You sell it for $10.99 and get $10 for every sale. And that's it. Straight and simple: a normal affiliate system (or so it seems). The only difference between this and a normal affiliate scheme is that you get a free site page to advertise, more or less equivalent to a normal affiliate sales page. It is certainly not a pyramid in that you only get paid on level 1. If I am wrong aboput this please put me right, but that's the way I see it.

The definition of a pyramid is : generally no product (a system with a product is a MLM scheme), you pay to join and get paid only when you persuade others to join below you. Otherwise it is either a) an affiliate system (perfectly legal) where you get a proportion of the sales price of the product, normally only on the first or second levels. Typical payments are 50% level1 and 10% at level2, or b) a Multi Level Marketing scheme with a product, but usually a greater number of levels, and with which you usually don't make much unless you recruit lots of people under you. This is borderline in legality.

That said, I don't subscribe to it, but I feel strongly that members of sites like this should understand exactly the difference between pyramid schemes, MLM systems and affiliateships before posting comments, or the value of the whole site will be undermined due to inaccuracy.

I then had a look at quite a lot of the threads and think that the site has value, at least to me, in two ways. It can expose illegal schemes and fraudulent ones, and in so doing save a lot of people a lot of money, and it can also be used as an advice forum for those such as I who are always looking for new ways to make money, but for whom other's experience with certain companies or products would be very useful.

So, I'm glad I joined.

Sorry about the length of this.

Cheers,

Pete

Webwatch
June 10th, 2006, 04:57 AM
Hello Pete and welcome to Matrixwatch.

This Affiliatecashmachine.com was a little before my time, do you have the title of the e-book that was being sold as I can't find many websites relating to it. Has it closed down.

pnisbet
June 10th, 2006, 05:13 AM
Hi again.

Sorry, it is affiliatecashmachine.co.uk, not com. Don't know why I did that. the full URL for the sales page is http://www.affiliatecashmachine.co.uk

garethw.26 obviously being the sponosr in this case.

Total spam, but not, I think, illegal. However, it is not a matrix system so probably not of concern.

Thanks anyway.

Peter

weirdid
June 10th, 2006, 05:33 AM
Hi Peter, and welcome to MW.

There are sites where you can find 1000's of eBooks for free, but so far, i
have never seen one that was of any real value.


_weird

Arzel
June 10th, 2006, 05:47 AM
I removed the affiliate link.

Webwatch
June 10th, 2006, 05:59 AM
Thanks Pete,
Not to much information on the e-book its more about the £10 you receive from getting others to start the same affiliate system, reminds me of a chain letter for some reason.

The true value of these e-books is often next to nothing as the information is freeley available elsewhere and its moe about the sale rather than the product itself.

The T & C are interesting though:


TERMS AND CONDITIONS:
This program operates within the laws of the USA, the UK and the EU.

This is an AFFILIATE program. It is not a Pyramid Scheme or a Multi Level Marketing Scheme. There is only ONE level. The affilate earns £10 per sale of a £19.99 product the remaining fee goes to the company.

This is not a Get Rich Scheme.You will not become rich over night. Over time, if you follow the guide set out you could make a substantial monthly income.

Upon joining you will be engaged in the business of Internet Mail Order

Remember to consider tax implications/returns/inland revenue and so on.
This program is, at this time, directed to UK residents only.

We follow a strict NO REFUND policy. Every member has been given access to the product & members only area which has marketing tools. So a question of should never arise and any such request will not be entertained.

All affiliates receive a product worth over £30.

Its not one for me as e-books are often a poor product to sell but then this isn't about the product its about the Get Rich scheme (even though the T & C say it isn't).

ycchen
June 11th, 2006, 12:21 PM
Hi again.

Sorry, it is affiliatecashmachine.co.uk, not com. Don't know why I did that. the full URL for the sales page is http://www.affiliatecashmachine.co.uk

garethw.26 obviously being the sponosr in this case.

Total spam, but not, I think, illegal. However, it is not a matrix system so probably not of concern.

Thanks anyway.

Peter You are right. It is not a matrix system and it is not a scam.

Unless it really offers a valuable product (ebook is hardly a valuable product), otherwise, I don't think you can sell more than 5 ebooks without getting any complaints.
Upon joining you will be engaged in the business of Internet Mail Order What's that?

The TOC is pretty straight forward with minor hype Over time, if you follow the guide set out you could make a substantial monthly income.
Overall, it seems like a pretty "honest" non-matrix affiliate business based on sale commission.

Good luck :)

concerned
June 13th, 2006, 12:48 PM
Maybe not a pyramid scheme, but probably a scam. When you are paying $10.99 for something worth maybe $.01 (on the high end) you can be in violation of other trust laws. I am sure since in your own words you call it a "so called ebook" it isn't what people are buying into. They are probably buying into the hype of making money. Your product is worthless, and the company is unethical at the least. Have fun selling your worthless piece of crap around the internet.