PDA

View Full Version : Yahoo Email Scam


MatrixWatch
August 28th, 2003, 01:49 AM
Here is a yahoo email scam that is being sent out. If you click on the link, you can see that they misspell their scam-site heading (Carrefully). If any of you have tracking powers, we could gather some info for the authorities together.

You usually know it is a scam by the fact that they ask you to provide personal information that you should never give to anyone. This email scam uses this method.


---------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Yahoo! Mail User,

We'd like to share some important information with you as you get to know our service:
At Yahoo Mail, we're committed to using the best technology available to help protect your privacy. Yahoo! Mail does not share your personal information with any third parties, except under the limited circumstances described in our privacy policy, or unless you choose to be listed in either the Yahoo! Directory or the Internet White Pages directory.

Yahoo! Mail is changing its database platform so you must confirm your information to use your account permanently, if you do not confirm your information, your account will not exist in new database and your mails will be deleted.


To confirm your information, please click here (http://yahooservices.8bit.co.uk/yahoo.php?newentry=K0001123920341&a=87a4f52176f2fds5579509a0f8a1bafb0c97d&db=MSG105765655s821.33&newdb=25592210265&entry=11281105%0d%0a).

damion
August 28th, 2003, 09:16 AM
How many people would really fall for this?
Look at the domain (8bit.co.uk)....

Do people really fall for stuff like this?

Damion

spydrman
August 28th, 2003, 03:03 PM
Domain Name: 8bit.co.uk
Registrant: Portland Communications Ltd
Registrant's URL: www.portland.co.uk

spydrman
August 28th, 2003, 03:09 PM
I reported the Yahoo! scam to their registrant @ www.portland.co.uk

concerned
August 28th, 2003, 03:09 PM
I went to that site and just for fun, I entered some crap. This is what I entered:

UserID: eatme

Password: biteme

After I did that, it told me that I was verified and that I could now go to the main yahoo page and redirected me.

That was all the information they wanted. Why would anyone fall for that crap!

damion
August 28th, 2003, 04:02 PM
I did the same thing but I was not as nice on what I typed in, lol.

Damion

Agent|Star
August 28th, 2003, 06:56 PM
Yeah people who are new to computers would fall for this... Even kids....

Concerned... eat you? wow... LOL

hello
August 28th, 2003, 08:09 PM
I think that this scammer is just testing the waters, if they have enough people fall for it, then they can go on to bigger things, such as Pay Pal accounts, eBay accounts, bank accounts, you name it. This person(s) needs to be stopped before people are really scammed.