PDA

View Full Version : Suspicious Alienware Sales (Hijacked?)


Joseph K.
October 9th, 2003, 03:00 AM
There are a lot of new ebay auctions up for buy-it-now Alienware laptops. All are from users with excellent feedback but almost completely as buyers or sellers or low-cost goods. Most have a similar style of description. Two from different users have NON-stock photos clearly taken at the same time. I'm not sure but it seems like possibly hijacked accounts, although they seem to take checks, which is confusing. I guess I'll report them as suspicious although I'm not really sure. Also 3 of the 5 have exactly one Apple PowerBook and one Alienware laptop up for auction at the same time after no previous computer sales. Oh yeah, they all do the pre-approved bidder thing too.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=46323&item=3434936097
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=46323&item=3434975482
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3434957575&category=46323


Here are the two with near-identical photos from different users:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=46323&item=3434953013
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=46323&item=3434924136

peterdragin
October 9th, 2003, 05:16 PM
One IS a legal seller, one kicked off already, and the rest are gone .

Joseph K.
October 9th, 2003, 06:18 PM
Hmm, how did you determine that that one was legit? I thought the photo thing was pretty suspicious and both auctions went up within a few hours of each other I think. Guess I'm a bit paranoid from the other 4.