View Full Version : www.qxlmaxbid.com
kevinho
October 29th, 2003, 10:14 AM
Not quite a matrix as such, but qxl are selling it quite a lot at the moment.
http://www.qxlmaxbid.com
Looks a bit dodgy to me, unless they have a licence to run a lottery of course.
MatrixWatch
October 31st, 2003, 01:09 AM
Interesting.. Do you know anything more about this "qxl" site? I'm not quite savvy on what they are doing..
kevinho
October 31st, 2003, 01:14 PM
www.qxl.com (pronounced quicksell.com) is a UK based auction site which is very popular. However I had an email from them regarding this site.
It seems that you pay an 'administration fee' to be able to bid. Yours is the winning bid if you have the highest unique bid, for example, the highest bid is £149.00 but if more than 1 person bids at that amount then a lower bid wins.
there is a maxmum bidding price (Plasma TV=£150)
and a min / max number of bidders 800 / 900 on the plasma TV
All bids are secret
Looks like a game of chance to me, but is it legal?:confused:
poorme
February 3rd, 2004, 03:31 PM
There are a few sites like this in US.
Usually,the final bid prize is surprisingly higher than the retail value.
spydrman
February 3rd, 2004, 06:50 PM
This sounds a lot like http://pricerightauctions.com/
I remember a discussion here on this forum about them in the past.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.