View Full Version : new scam?
mercinary
November 13th, 2003, 12:30 PM
http://page.auctions.shopping.yahoo.com/auction/82754599?aucview=0x17
What kind of new scam is this?
-Merc
MatrixWatch
November 14th, 2003, 04:17 AM
I don't know, but it looks like a matrix-info seller to me. Check out his "closed auctions" page:
http://csearch.auctions.shopping.yahoo.com/cuser?userID=videogamedirect2000&acc=us
Lots of bids on those items. Yahoo should probably be told about this guy soon.
How are reports filed at Yahoo?
mercinary
November 14th, 2003, 08:12 AM
I'll look into how to report on yahoo.
I bet there are a ton of people doing matrix auctions via Yahoo auctions too.
-Merc
mercinary
November 14th, 2003, 08:18 AM
Figured it out.
Yahoo uses the "Neighborhood Watch" system. Detailed in this link:
http://help.yahoo.com/help/us/auct/agen/agen-15.html
I didn't read through their terms of service, but here is that link:
http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
Each auction has the Neighborhood watch link attached (it's near the top of the screen, right before the auction listing itself). If an auction gets reported three times, they look into it. I already submitted a Neighborhood Watch on this auction. Two more people will have to take action to try to get the auction removed.
-Merc
P.S. You have to be a yahoo member.
mercinary
November 14th, 2003, 10:01 AM
BINGO! Figured it out.
Started by finding this thread:
http://www.matrix-sites.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=868&st=0&#entry5136
From there I found:
http://www.freevideogames.com
It is apparently 100% legal. You simply have to sign up for a ton of crap to get points, which are then redeemable for the consoles. The consoles are around 7000-8000 points. You would have to sign up for a bunch of credit cards, trial services, and stuff along those lines (anywhere between 20--> 1000 points for each sign-up).
Legit it appears, but obviously only for those people who are willing to sign-up for a ton of crap. Personally, I would do it, but I already have like 3 credit cards, and I have no desire to sign up for 10 30 day free trials, and then try to remember to cancel all of them before my credit card gets charged!!!
Anywho...there is the rundown.
-Merc
concerned
November 14th, 2003, 02:31 PM
It is apparently 100% legal. You simply have to sign up for a ton of crap to get points, which are then redeemable for the consoles.
How is this apparently legal? Just because someone on a pro matrix forum says it is? The are constantly pushing ideas that are illegal, yet people believe them because they twist the laws around in their favor. These kind of sites want you to sign up for stuff so that they can get all of your personal information, such as social security numbers. It is amazing how many people will give a stranger information like that for the chance to save $100. Meanwhile, these people have taken credit cards out in your name, and racked up thousands of dollars in charges that they will never pay back.
I don't know if this is legal or not, and I'm sure that you don't have solid proof either, but you definately have to be careful with your information on the internet.
mercinary
November 14th, 2003, 02:38 PM
Did you check out the site? I really didn't lok into the forms there, but I assumed all the forms were filled out on the third-party sites (mastercard or whatnot), and then the refferral went back to freevideogames.com, who then credited you. Not much different from the completely legit mypoints.com system.
I could be wrong, as I didn't look at the forms.
-Merc
concerned
November 14th, 2003, 03:03 PM
Yes I did look at that site. I went to the Discover card offer, and I found it strange that it went to another page that is on the freevideogames.com server instead of the Discover card server. Then I tried to view the source code to see where the information was being saved, but the page wouldn't let me view the code. They blocked it out. I think that they are collecting the data and submitting it to Discover for you, but you never know if they are saving that information for themselves as well.
MatrixWatch
November 16th, 2003, 04:06 AM
Looks like Yahoo has cancelled the auction. Good job Mercinary. Would you like to join the team?
mercinary
November 16th, 2003, 05:19 PM
I don't know if I could officially join the team, as tiem constraints might keep me from being consistantly active in that role. I am more than happy to help out on a more informal basis, such as posting links to questionable auctions, and continuing to submit Neighborhood watch reports on yahoo.
I actually had a hand in closing abotu 4-5 auctions on yahoo, all of which had to do with the $33 xbox offer.
Thanks for the offer!
-Merc
MatrixWatch
November 16th, 2003, 06:52 PM
That's fine. The members of the eBay/Yahoo Watch Dog team are on their own time, and there are no formal time requirements. The basic rule is that if you see an auction then report it on the forums, and if you see a report on the forums, then report it to eBay. This way, we can get several people reporting the auctions.
vBulletin® v3.6.12, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.