PDA

View Full Version : eBay Auctions


maddawg
December 5th, 2003, 11:47 AM
I realize I am probably opening myself up to get slammed, but I just wanted to put my .02 cents into this.

First of all I would like to commend everyone for doing everything they can to stop the illegal scams on the auction sites were the information directs the buyers to go to 'Matrix Sites' to get sucked into these scams.

I have purchased information like this in the past and initially when I went to the particular web site referenced I automatically started drooling and thinking to myself, wow this is too good to be true, it can't be this easy. Then I did some research into these sites and then started adding things up and found that it was infect 'too good to be true' so I did not get involved in any of these.

However I have noticed some of the sellers you have listed are infect not selling information to Matrix sites, but they are selling information on what needs to be done to get a game system, electronics from www.freedvds.com. I too have purchased this information and went through the process (yes it was my personal choice to give my credit card information to these companies) and after going through everything I received a XBOX for less than $40.00 and it's currently wrapped up under the Christmas tree for my soon to be Brother In Law.

After going through this process I then decided to take some time and compile the most effective, cheapest way to get the system and posted the information on eBay. In my auctions I specifically state that this is NOT for any type of Pyramid scheme or Matrix Sites.

After selling some of this I did receive some feedback from buyers stating they did not feel comfortable in giving their credit card information to these sites, so I promptly refunded their money and let it be at that.

I then started receiving emails from someone here (I don’t have the email at the moment so I don't recall who exactly it was) and they pretty much told me that Matrix Sites are illegal and the auctions would be shut down.

I totally agree that the matrix auctions should be eliminated, but I think there should be some judgment and it should not be assumed that all of these auctions are for the illegal matrix sites.

Now I know the 'freedvd.com' web site was talked about in other forums and the most common question is 'Why don't these people go through the process and get multiple systems and then turn around and sell the system itself on eBay?'
The reason for this is because their rules state that there can be only one system per household.

To me, the process on the freedvds.com web site benefits several people:

Freedvds.com benefits as they are referring their users to the other web sites as advertising
The websites that are advertise on freedvds.com are benefiting from users actually visiting these web sites (I have to admit I did not cancel all of my memberships as some of the memberships offer great benefits)
The person going through this process gets compensated by getting something for a cheap price.

Let's figure this; it takes about 2 hours to go through the process. They spend $40.00 and then they are compensated the remainder cost of the system for their time of reading all the advertisements and stuff.

Thanks for your time

Take care

mercinary
December 5th, 2003, 12:40 PM
These types of auctions you are describing (no matter how legal they are), are not allowed by ebay. By posting that auction, you were circumventing their fees. This is why these auctions get shut down.

Additionally, Freevideogames.com or freedvds.com (all the same site really) are likely taking all that informationm you gave them, and mass-marketing it. See this post below for more information:

http://www.matrixwatch.org/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=914

I do think that you were wrongly emailed, since you were not supporting a pyramid site, but often times the watchdogs here send tons of emails to auctioneers. We get hundreds of auctions closed every month, so you could understand the confusion.

The most important thing here is that if something is too good to be true, it likely is. That company is massing all kinds of data, credit card numbers, names, phone numbers, and who knows what else. I am glad you got your Xbox for your young relative, but at what cost? I think that these sites too will shortly be revealed for what they really are.

-Merc

maddawg
December 5th, 2003, 01:10 PM
I'm not sure why you say these auctions are 'circumventing' their fees? eBay charged me for posting the auctions and charged me after the purchased occurred.
There is also a whole category devoted to this type of information where people are selling ‘Wholesale lists’. A person could easily go search the various search engines and find this information, but some would rather pay someone else for these lists instead of taking the time to create a list of their own.

As far as what I paid for the XBOX I received, I ended up paying about $30 for it as I signed up for a DVD club (I have been wanting to do this for some time and figured why not get some points for doing so).

The site itself (Freedvds, freevideogames etc...) does not collect the information, if you look at the offers you are actually directed to another web site. There is a little popup that opens that simply tracks your points, but when filling in your information (Which is usually your credit card number and your home address) you are on a secure web site of the site freedvds had advertised. I wouldn’t be so sure of this if I didn’t do it myself.

The companies that are included are:

BMG Music
Columbia House
AOL
Matchmaker web sites.
Various Cell phone vendors.

There are also various companies here that also advertised on TV, Radio etc… this is simply another advertising avenue for them.

They are always adding more sites to their offers to collect points as well.

I have received plenty of feedback from people who have purchased this information from me and they are also receiving their systems. I have also received email from people asking what a ‘Matrix Site’ was, I referred them to here to get all the information they want regarding these sites.

So my final question is, if I update the information and put more auctions up, will you guys report them to eBay and shut them down?

mercinary
December 5th, 2003, 01:55 PM
I, as well as the rest of the ebay watchdogs, will still report these kinds of auctions.

You can read up on this here:

http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/listing-circumventing.html

"Offer outside of eBay - offering the opportunity to purchase the item or other merchandise outside of eBay through an item listing."

This is why we continue to report them, and ebay continues to cancel them by the dozens. Ebay will also suspend the accounts of known repear offenders, just as a heads up.

-Merc